Forum Information

Dear users, I have decided to phase out the posting on the forums on this website and move any discussions over to this private facebook group or join the Discord for realtime chat. I will not make the forums offline as there is a wealth of content, but posting has now been disabled. Thanks to all those who have contributed over the years, and I'll see you over on the Facebook group or Discord! -Tom

Welcome, Guest

TOPIC: Beginning my first track

Beginning my first track 2 years 6 months ago #24055

Hi Everyone,

Today is my off day. I get only one off day per week.

Its 10:25am right now. I have ableton opened and am going to create a track by using Philip George - Wish You Were Mine as a ghost track. I read that its a good way to create my own music.

I have mapped out where the melody hook is and the "meat"of the tune. So lets see where this takes me.

PS : i have zero musical knowledge and have never created music before.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Beginning my first track 2 years 6 months ago #24060

Ok guys... 10hrs later (4++hrs of actual productivity and this is the crap i came up with)
soundcloud.com/trippyeinstein/unknown-track-version-1

it has has

1) melody (gminor )
2) bass which is horrendous
3) kick and clap

i think i have alot of work to do ... hmm... should learn from tom INTRODUCTION TO DIGITAL AUDIO PRODUCTION instead of just trying to create a track with no foundation.
Last Edit: 2 years 6 months ago by trippyeinstein. Reason: wrong link

Beginning my first track 2 years 6 months ago #24062

• Bl4cksun
  • 4th Harmonic (Gold Boarder)
  • Thank you received: 142
I bought toms intro series, think it was about $10 and got sent on a number of dvd/cds. Over the years Ive spent a fortune on hardware synths, push, vsts, live. However out of all the money Ive spent on my studio, that $10 did more to improve my music production and sound than anything else.